vivilee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Die like the Archbishop

Looking for a job by utilizing the internet job banks and Yellow Pages. I'm actually very good at getting responses...apparently it's quite difficult to get responses from resumes sent to job advertisements on Workopolis or Monster. I do better than average because I target the resume completely to the point where I feel it becomes a "bullseye".

I've been getting interviews. Got one at an Insurance company. Didn't hear back from them though, not that I care. Also got one with Proctor and Gamble. Didn't make it in time though. Really terrible, I felt very guilty about that because I should've left 2 hours early to make sure I got there on time, I take it as a sign to make sure to do that the next time I have an important appointment where punctuality is key.

I also got a call from Enterprise, however, I'm not going to call them back because I don't want to wash cars. I know you have to start at the bottom but honestly, there are plenty of better jobs out there and this time I'm going to have standards. No more taking a job unless it fits 90 percent of what I truly want.

And what is it that I want from a career? Ideally, the following traits:

1. Ability to work from home.

2. Recognition for hard work.

3. Something that I'm very good at doing and something I enjoy doing for instance, organizing, researching, writing, telephoning, administering, filing, designing, finding, investigating, learning, singing, gardening, cleaning, decluttering, simplifying, understanding, creating new ideas, building concepts, typing, learning new software programs, reading and many other introverted type skills.

4. Makes good money.

5. Career that I will stick with for at least 2 years.

6. Complete benefits that start right away without a probationary period.

7. If unable to work from home, than the office should be walking distance from my home.

8. Career that is respected by the community at large.

9. Career that helps the community in some way, valuable, honorable. God would be proud of me...

On the bus yesterday while coming back from the Korean grocery store I had this weird longing. All of a sudden I thought about the passing of that Archbishop who started Covenant House and I felt really sad because I realised he was really gone. I was so impressed by the fact that one man had done so much for the community. He's gone now.

And then, all of a sudden I had this longing to be able to do the same as him. To dedicate my life to making life better for the unfortunate. I felt tingly and kind of lightheaded. I think his spirit was around me, perhaps telling me to do something with my empty, meaningless life.

Just how do I go about making a difference in my community? I don't know. I have no experience. See, that guy had the Catholic church behind him, what do I have?

See, I just keep changing all the time, my goals keep fluctuating from one extreme to the other. One day I want this career, the next day I want to be something else.

I'm seeking all the time. I want to stop seeking, I want to find it, and stick with it, make a commitment and then go all out. I want to make a difference. I want to feel alive, whole, recognized, honored, revered, and I want to have a lot of fun. I want to be happy and rich.

I hate politics so I wouldn't go into the government. Although helping the community requires a lot of reaching out to the government from the sounds of it, of course, I wouldn't rely on the government at all. Go to people who want to make a difference. The religious sectors, private sectors and non-profit sectors. Forget the government.

Now, it's finding a cause. What can I do, where can I go, God please help me find something I can dedicate the rest of my life too so that I can die like the Archbishop.

12:47 p.m. - 2003-04-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: