vivilee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ottawa

Merry Christmas.

Had a dream last night, been a long time since I remembered a dream.

In it, I was travelling within Ottawa. I actually lived in the suburbs of Ottawa and I was visiting the city for some reason and trying to get back to the suburbs via a subway type of train that was above ground. It was sunny.

After finding my way to the right train, I realized at the last minute just before boarding that I had lost my wallet. I had no i.d. on me at all. No money, no drivers license etc. I kind of went into a semi-panic but then I just sort of sat down and waited. I remember thinking that would be okay but that I had a lot to do.

Key symbols:

Ottawa - surprisingly nice city, lots of water, clean, friendly, low key, a little more relaxed than Toronto

Subway above ground - nicer than travelling underground, going up, moving up, better scenery

Stairs going up - always good sign, moving up in world, going to a higher level, I did it relatively easy in my dream

No i.d. - no identity in the world, no way to prove who I really am, no way of getting anything like more money out of the atm machine, in an unfamiliar place really hard to manage

Lost wallet - no money, no identification, yet I didn't go into a severe panic, no way to go back to the suburbs, no money for even a telephone call

Perhaps a need for change. A new identity. A new start? A new city. New scenery. Everything. I know it's going to be scary -- like losing all your i.d. but, it's something I've been thinking of doing for awhile.

I remember Ivan and I tried to think of a city better than Toronto and we couldn't come up with anything. But, we didn't discuss Ottawa.

We went to Ottawa just this summer. I remember thinking it was a nice city.

10:45 a.m. - 2002-12-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: