vivilee's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

owl

Owl Dream

Walking along a beautiful country path, there are lush greens and flowers everywhere along the sides of the path. The path is straight, not too narrow or wide. A very pretty path. Just ahead of me about 10 feet or so there are a couple of trees. Inside of the trees there are 2 owls. They are very large owls and they are a golden colour. They are quite beautiful and they look kind of cuddly--not scary like other owls. They are looking straight at me as if they are observing me.

I looked up the meaning of owl in some online dream dictionary's and the meanings are quite diverse from dictionary to dictionary.

Some say seeing an owl in your dream portends coming difficulties and a narrow escape from a very bad disease or death. If the owl speaks then it's even worse. Other dictionary's say that the owl means wisdom, oracle or knowledge.

The owl represents my mother. She was always called an owl as a nickname--it's a term of endearment. Christina Soo told me that owls mean death in the native culture. What I don't understand is why there are 2 owls.

According to Shamanism the owl spirit represents:

Stealth

Secrecy

Silent and swift movement

Seeing behind masks

Keen sight

Messenger of secrets and omens

Shape-shifting

Link between the dark, unseen world and the world of light

Comfort with shadow self

Moon magick

Freedom

What do I think? I think the owls are a good omen in my dream--if they were bad, then I would have felt that kind of emotion I would think. Because the path I was on was so beautiful...the owls themselves were quite wonderful looking not threatening at all--just quite large and awesome looking. The fact that they were golden is another indication that the owls are a somewhat good sign I think.

The dream was so vivid. The colours so rich.

I hope it's a good dream.

11:51 a.m. - 2003-07-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: